Brief Sport

24th Dec 2013


Mo Farah and Christine Ohuruogu have been named as Britain’s athletes of the year. The British Athletics Writers’ Association’s 51st annual awards saw Farah win the award for the fourth consecutive year. Ohuruogu has previously won in 2007 and 2008.


Farah’s success in winning the 5000 metres and 10,000m titles at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow in August saw him scoop the John Rodda Award. Adam Gemili was runner-up for the men’s award with fellow sprinter James Dasaolu third.




Amir Khan has reiterated his desire to fight Floyd Mayweather next spring. “He is undefeated and I want to be the one to defeat him,” Khan told The National. Mayweather  is a five-division world champion, having won eight world titles and the lineal championship in three different weight classes.





[Pakistan’s Ahmed Shehzad scored 35 from 37 balls in the wing against Afghanistan in the first-ever Twenty20 international between the two countries]


Former Pakistan Test pacer, Sarfraz Nawaz demanded an inquiry into the national team’s recent defeats against minnows, Zimbabwe and South Africa. Nawaz also demanded that Pakistan‘s former fast bowler, Shoaib Akhtar be investigated by the anti-corruption unit for his recent comments about some unnamed Pakistani players with reference to corruption and fixing.


In related news Pakistan overcame stiff resistance from Afghanistan to win the first-ever Twenty20 international between the two countries by six wickets in Sharjah on Dec 9.

Chasing a challenging 138-run target, Pakistan were held to the final over of the match and won on a wide off the last delivery of the match.



Full 2014 World Cup draw; Group A; Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon. Group B; Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia. Group C; Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan. Group D; Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy. Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras. Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Iran, Nigeria. Group G; Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA. Group H; Belgium, Algeria, Russia, South Korea.




[Sonny Bill Williams has been named Rugby Player Of The Year]


New Zealand’s Sonny Bill Williams has been named player of the year by the Rugby League International Federation on Nov 27. The 28-year-old forward, the first Kiwi to win the award, beat Australia’s Greg Inglis and Scotland’s Danny Brough to the title. Williams only returned to the sport at the turn of the year after a five-year spell in rugby union and boxing.




Sania Mirza announced that she will continue to partner Romanian Horia Tecau for the Australian Open 2014, in mixed doubles category. After playing alongside each other at Wimbledon and the US Open 2013, Mirza and Tecau will look to make mark and start their season on a high in Melbourne.

Leave a Comment

What is 9 + 11 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

The Muslim News Awards for Excellence 2015 was held on 25 March in central London to acknowledge British Muslim and non-Muslim contributions to the society.

The Muslim News Awards for Excellence event is to acknowledge British Muslim and non-Muslim contributions to society. Over 850 people from diverse background, Muslim and non-Muslim, attended the gala dinner.

Latest Tweets

The Muslim News

The Muslim News
Read more