Palestine: Eleven legislators, one Minister, held by Israel

4th Mar 2014

By Saed Bannoura

IMEMC News: The Ahrar Center for Detainees Studies and Human Rights has reported that Israel is currently holding captive eleven democratically elected Palestinian legislators, and one minister.

                   Palestinain Legislative Council - Ahrar

[Palestinain Legislative Council – Ahrar]


In a press release, head of the Ahrar Center, former political prisoner, Fuad al-Khuffash, stated that most of the imprisoned officials are held under arbitrary Administrative Detention orders, without charges.

“In many cases, renewed detention orders were issued against them just a day or a few days before their release date”, al-Khuffash said, “All of the detained legislators are former political prisoners who spent years in Israel prisons.

The detained legislators are Mahmoud Abu Teir, Yasser Mansour, Mahmoud Ramahy, Nizar Ramadan, Mohammad Bader, Ahbdul-Jaber Foqaha, Ahmad Attoun, Mohammad Natsha, Marwan Barghouthi, and Ahmad Sa’adat.

The detained minister is Issa Ja’bary, who was recently rearrested and imprisoned by Israel without charges.

“They are rarely allowed family visits, and are facing very harsh living conditions”, al-Khuffash said, “Some of them have chronic diseases; they need professional and adequate medical attention, but are denied this right”.


Leave a Comment

What is 8 + 9 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)

The Muslim News Awards for Excellence 2015 was held on 25 March in central London to acknowledge British Muslim and non-Muslim contributions to the society.

The Muslim News Awards for Excellence event is to acknowledge British Muslim and non-Muslim contributions to society. Over 850 people from diverse background, Muslim and non-Muslim, attended the gala dinner.

Latest Tweets

The Muslim News

The Muslim News
Read more